The Widening Gyre

Rogues' Gallery
Signs of the Times
What's New in Signs of the Times
  • Joe Szakos says it's time for Robert E. Lee to go

  • What's New in Political Archives
  • Delegate Toscano Explores the Restoration of Felon's Rights
  • Uriah Fields congratulates Gov. McAuliffe on Felons' Voting Rights restoration

  • The Home Page of George Edward Loper (Editor Ludorum)

    "The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity. Surely some revelation is at hand... " (from The Second Coming by W.B. Yeats).

    May 20, 2016  

    Virginia Fifth District Election 2016



    Jane Dittmar, Charlottesville, former chair, Albemarle County Board of Supervisors


    Sen. Tom Garrett, Buckingham, former Louisa County Commonwealth's Attorney

    Independent Green:

    Dr. Ken Hildebrandt, Nathalie, retired chiropractor,


    Stephen Harmon, Marshall, former defense contractor and Navy veteran


    John Thomas Amato II, Crozet, Tech developer


    Presidential Election 2016

    Major National Candidates


    Delegate counts for Democrats.

    Hillary Rodham Clinton, New York, former Senator, former Secretary of State
    Bernie Sanders, Vermont, Senator (I)


    Delegate counts for Republicans

    Donald Trump, New York, real estate developer, entertainer


    A candidate will be selected at the LP national convention, May 26-30 in Orlando, Florida.

    Gary Johnson, New Mexico, businessman (construction, marijuana), former Governor (R), 2012 Libertarian presidential candidate
    Marc Feldman, Ohio, physician
    Steve Kerbel, Colorado, author and businessman
    John McAfee, North Carolina, computer scientist and entrepreneur
    Shawna Joy Sterling, Kentucky, pastor
    Austin Petersen, Missouri, Tea Party activist, former FBN producer
    Derrick Michael Reed, California, engineer
    Darryl Perry, author, publisher and radio host
    Jack Robinson Jr, businessman
    Rhett Smith, Texas, marriage counselor
    Cecil Ince, Texas, film producer, occasional candidate for office
    Joy Waymire, California, ranch foreman


    Dr. Jill Stein, Massachusetts. MD, recent candidate for various offices

    Virginia Elections 2017


    Ralph Northam, (D) Pediatric neurologist, Lt. Governor

    Ed Gillespie, (R) Political Consultant, Senatorial candidate 2014
    Rep. Robert J. Wittman, (R) 1st C.D.
    Shak Hill, financial consultant, Senatorial candidate 2014
    Corey Stewart, (R) Woodbridge. Attorney, Prince William County Executive, Chair of Trump campaign in Virginia

    Lieutenant Governor

    Del. Jennifer McClellan, (D) Richmond, Attorney
    Levar Stoney, (D), Richmond, Secretary of the Commonwealth, former DPVA executive
    Sen. Kenny Alexander, (D) Norfolk, Candidate for Mayor of Norfolk
    Justin Fairfax, (D) former Assistant United States Attorney and former candidate for Attorney General
    Sen. Barbara Favola, (D) Arlington,
    Del. Eileen Filler-Corn, (D) Fairfax County,
    Mike Hamlar, (D), Roanoke, businessman and 2015 State Senate candidate
    Del. Charniele Herring, (D) Alexandria, former Chair of the Democratic Party of Virginia
    Dwight C. Jones, (D) Mayor of Richmond and former Chair of the Democratic Party of Virginia; Pastor
    Gene Rossi, (D) Assistant United States Attorney
    Molly Ward, (D) Hampton, Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources and former Mayor of Hampton
    Sen. Jennifer Wexton, (D) Loudon County, attorney

    Raul "Danny" Vargas, (R) Herndon, Marketing Executive, former candidate for Delegate
    Sen. Bryce E. Reeves (R-Spotsylvania)
    Sen. Jill Holzman Vogel (R-Fauquier)
    Del. Glenn Davis (R-Virginia Beach)

    Attorney General

    Mark Herring, (D) Incumbent

    Rob Bell, (R) Charlottesville. Attorney, 58th District Delegate
    Chuck Smith (R) Virginia Beach, attorney, former Navy JAG
    John Adams (R) Richmond, attorney, former Assoc. Counsel to President G.W. Bush


    Offer Your Wisdom and Insight to Congress

    You can contact Senator Mark Warner [] or (202) 224-2023. His fax is (202) 224-6295.

    Contact Senator Tim Kaine [] or (202) 224-4024.

    Contact Rep. Robert Hurt [] Phone: (202) 225-4711 Fax: (202) 225-5681

    Contact Representative Dave Brat at [] or (202) 225-2815. His fax is (202) 225-0011.

    Contact the Governor

    Governor Terry McAuliffe, State Capitol, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Phone: (804) 786-2211. Fax: (804) 371-6351, TTY/TDD (For the Hearing Impaired): 1-800-828-1120, or 711 .E-mail: contact him through his website at

    All media requests should be made through the Governor's Press Office. Requests can be made by calling the Office of the Governor: (804) 786-2211. Invitations and Scheduling Requests by regular mail or fax only.

    The Office of the Governor receives a large volume of e-mail daily, and as a result, they are unable to respond to scheduling requests received by e-mail. All invitations and scheduling requests for the Governor should be submitted by regular mail or by fax. Please make sure to include as many details about the nature of the request as possible, as well as including your full name, complete address and telephone number.

    Governor Terry McAuliffe, Scheduling Office, State Capitol, 3rd Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

    Contact Your Legislators

    Senator R. Creigh Deeds, 25th District: Charlottesville [P. O. Box 5462, 22905. (434) 296-5491]; Bath [(800) 545-5899; Richmond [(804) 698-7525].

    Committee Assignments: Agriculture, Conservation, and Natural Resources; Privileges and Elections; Transportation, Courts of Justice. See also, bills Creigh Deeds has introduced.

    Senator Emmett Hanger, 24th District: Local (540) 885-6898; Richmond (804) 298-7524; electronic mail --

    Committee Assignments: Agriculture, Conservation, and Natural Resources; Finance; Local Government; Rehabilitation and Social Services. See also, bills Emmett Hanger has introduced.

    Delegate David Toscano, 57th District: Local (434) 220-1660.. Richmond (804) 698 1057. Email
    Web presence:

    Committee Assignments: Courts of Justice, Science and Technology

    Delegate Robert Bell, 58th District: Local: 2309 Finch Court, Charlottesville, Virginia 22911; (434) 245-8900; and, Rm 810 General Assembly Building, Richmond, Virginia. (804) 698-1058

    Committee Assignments: Courts of Justice; Privileges and Elections; and Health Welfare and Institutions. See also, bills Rob Bell has introduced.

    Delegate Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr., 59th District: Local (434) 352-2880; Richmond (804) 698-1059; electronic mail --

    Committee Assignments: Appropriations; ; General Laws; and Rules. See also, bills Watkins Abbitt has introduced.

    Delegate R. Steven Landes, 25th District: Local (540) 245-5540; Richmond (804) 698-1025; electronic mail --

    Committee Assignments: Appropriations; Education; and Rules. See also, bills Steve Landes has introduced.

    Virginia General Assembly: The toll free number for the Virginia General Assembly is 1-800-889-0229.

    Community Calendars

    The City of Charlottesville offers a Visitors Calendar And the University of Virginia has a student calendar. Check them out.

    Local Political Web Sites

    ~The Albemarle County Democratic Committee~ The Albemarle County Republican Committee~ The Jefferson Area Libertarians~ The Charlottesville Democratic Committee~ The Charlottesville Republican Committee~  University Democrats~ Richmond Sunlight~ Virginia Public Access Project~ David Toscano~ Helena Cobban~ Fluvanna Democrats~ Brian Wheeler~ Fifth Congressional District Democrats~ Jennifer McKeever~ Obama Truth Squad~ Fluvanna County Republicans~ Jefferson Area Tea Party~

    The Community Chalkboard

    See the Thomas Jefferson Center's Monuments to Free Expression.

    Comments? Questions? Write me at